Quiet Confidence
by tammie renea

Quiet confidence means…

Rather than scold myself for my imperfections,
I accept them and realize my ability to change them.
Accepting my own imperfections also allows me to accept those of others.

Quiet confidence means…

Rather than mentally and emotionally “sleeping” through each day,
I choose to be fully awake…
to be aware of my own thoughts, feelings, attitudes,
and the effects they have on myself and others.

Quiet confidence means…

I am becoming aware of and choose to nurture my own talents and gifts,
both to fulfill my own life and to give something of myself to the world.

Quiet confidence means…

I am willing to acknowledge the deep down pain and fear that keep me “stuck”.
It means that I am willing to take the humble “baby steps”
it often takes to move myself forward.

Quiet confidence means…

Rather than beating myself up,
I will forgive myself when I fall back into my “old” ways
of negative thinking and behaving.
Doing this also allows me to be more compassionate and understanding of others.

Quiet confidence means…

I think for myself.
I ask my own questions and seek my own answers from sources that I consider reliable. 
As I learn, I use my new knowledge in positive ways.

Quiet confidence means…

I am not a “people pleaser.”
I do not carry the fear of rejection and abandonment
which would keep me from being myself.
This also helps me allow others to be themselves.

Quiet confidence means…

I make judgments through compassionate eyes.
I am not blind to injustice.
I am patient enough to allow the truth to come into focus,
and I am willing to take action whenever necessary.

Quiet confidence means…

Rather than avoiding judgment and criticism
by living within the safety of a tight cocoon,
I accept my responsibilities and my gift of freedom
by emerging and spreading my wings to fly.

Quiet confidence means…

I take full responsibility for my mistakes,
as well as for my accomplishments. 
When I make a mistake,
I humbly make amends whenever possible.
When I accomplish a goal,
I respectfully share my success and tuck it inside my heart.

Quiet confidence means…

I know I can only change myself and set goals for myself. 
I cannot change others to meet my needs or wants. 
I learn to meet my own needs and to fulfill my own wants,
therefore avoiding false expectations and resentments.

Quiet confidence means…

I do not accept abuse of any sort from myself or others;
nor do I abuse myself or others. 
A harsh tongue only hurts, never heals.  
Physical punishment only reaps fear and resentment.

Quiet confidence means…

I appreciate the gifts of body and mind.
My spirit is the life of me which dwells within my flesh.
I care for my mental and physical health
without comparing myself to others
or setting unrealistic standards.

“In quietness and in confidence shall be your strength”
Isaiah 30:15

